Distractions are Momentum Killers

20120831-020327.jpg

Distractions are Momentum Killers!

My resolve after reflecting on the past 48 hours:

Distractions can kill momentum…or at the very least cause a sudden set back that could either be temporary or permanent.

While sitting in bed at 11:15pm tonight, after what I am calling a short day, I began reflecting over the last 48 hours or so, and began writing down my thoughts in my journal entry for the day.

I am saying that today was a short day because it was followed by a very long day. Yesterday, I began my first day, well first night of working a 12 hour shift, continuous all through the night, as an extra, in the new Fast & Furious 6 movie which is partially being filmed in Glasgow. After driving an hour back home to Edinburgh, I eventually made it into my bed. While lying there suffering from excruciating knee pain, I took my pain killers, and watched a little telly to try and distract my brain from the pain signals. I eventually fell asleep and slept for about 6 hours.

Call it success I guess, but now I’m back in bed, only this time reflecting on what I thought I had wanted to do, or maybe what I thought God had orchestrated for me to do since they chose me to be only 1 of 30 out of hundreds or even thousands of other extras to choose from. I had agreed to be an extra in this new Hollywood feature film, but unfortunately or maybe thankfully, my knee wasn’t going to allow for another 10 nights of standing and walking (in the cold mind you) on the set for another 12 hour shift in each of the next 10 days.

In hindsight, I was being extremely optimistic and overly ambitious while thinking I could stand all night long after only just 4 months since having a total knee replacement (not to mention what it was doing to my bad knee). My Physio is thanking me for making the “RIGHT” choice now.

Thankfully, I’ve realised that, had I been able to complete these next 11 days/nights of filming, no matter how rewarding and satisfying it might have been, that it was going to be a distraction for me. On the one hand, I was meeting people from Glasgow (which is not a bad thing) and had begun a relationship with a couple of the guys, (which is a good thing) but God has called me to Edinburgh, and to my community. And, if I am being totally honest with myself, I have to conclude that I have resolved within my heart, soul, and now mind, that these next 11 days were going to be a distraction for me!

Over the last two weeks, I had begun to sense some real momentum with the changes that are happening, and some excitement with the announcement that I/we are in the midst of a transition. The news that I am now part of the core leadership team of Mosaic Edinburgh, serving as a Pastor, as well as, several other key roles, and that Debbie and I are going to be planting a missional community (beginning this next month), in which we will be leading, has put some definitive excitement back in my life, and it has also reenergised me.

Excitement, momentum, 2 blog posts in one week, and another two in the hopper ready to post, setting up social media for Mosaic, and with the nudging of many others, starting another blog called , Foodienationz, http://www.foodienationz.wordpress.com & other social media like Facebook (LIKE our Foodienationz page) and Twitter, (Follow us @FoodieNationz). These are all just part of the focus shift that has been occurring with me over the last couple of weeks.

So, even though another experience of being an extra again would have been good, and the money great, I am very grateful that my circumstances only briefly allowed this kind of set- back. This was a momentum train wreck on the verge of derailing what has taken place recently , and that would have been a difficult task to get “The Mo” back on track!

I get it God, I am listening now, and I am very happy to be focused on what you have purposed me to do.

I’ll leave you with this final question.

Are you being distracted from the very thing that God has purposed in your heart for you to be doing today?

If so, don’t let the distractions kill your momentum. Stay focused on what He wants you to do!

Love, Kent

One thought on “Distractions are Momentum Killers

Leave a Reply

